h1

I am still alive – and a wedding cake with a difference

April 30, 2009

I know it has been a loooong time (four months!) since I’ve posted but these photos have been longing to be shared.

green-rose-topper

This couple wanted a three tier cake for their March wedding. They chose the decorations by combining a few ideas I threw their way, and gave me a fabric sample to match the ribbons to so the cake would fit their theme. And then there was the not insignificant matter of cake flavours. They chose mud cake, carrot cake, and… Lolly cake!

Lolly cake, for any non-Kiwi readers, is more like a slice, and is made from crushed malt biscuits, sweetened condensed milk, butter, and hard marshmallow candy, usually either fruit puffs or Eskimos (which have been in the news a bit lately). This mixture is usually rolled into a log, coated with coconut, and served in small slices. You can find a recipe here.

Initially the sweet-loving bride and groom requested the large tier be the lolly cake layer, but we decided that since the lolly cake is served in smaller slices having it as a smaller tier would make more sense. In the end, the bottom tier was chocolate mud cake with chocolate ganache icing, the middle tier lolly cake, and the top tier carrot cake with cream cheese icing.

Last but not least, if anyone else decides this is a good idea – ramp up the cake supports! Lolly cake is HEAVY and was threatening the bottom tier as we drove to the venue, as I usually transport stacked cakes already assembled. It was all okay in the end, but caused some amount of last-minute stress!

lolly-cake-wedding-cake

7 comments

  1. What a gorgeous cake Rosa! I’ve heard about lolly cake but I’ve never tried it. I must give it a go since I seem to like all of the NZ food I’ve tried thus far πŸ™‚


  2. Thanks Lorraine! Lolly cake is one of those ubiquitous childhood treats – certainly counts as one of my earlier memories of ‘baking’ – and will certainly give a generous sugar high for effort put in. Perhaps next time you borrow someone’s children they could have a go! πŸ˜‰


  3. Beautiful cake!


  4. Hi, I have been asked to make a friends wedding cake…I have just made one for another friends wedding at Easter..a traditional fruit cake..three tier. Now this other friend wants a lollie cake for her June wedding…can I make it as a full size cake or do I have to build it up in layers to get it to look as deep as a baked cake??? She wants a two tier lollie cake..


  5. You can make it all as one – since it doesn’t have to bake it doesn’t matter how thick it is at all – so actually for this cake the lollie cake tier was the easiest to make, as I make two cakes for normal cake tiers to get a good height. πŸ™‚ I’d love to see pics when you’re done! Good luck!


  6. Hi, a lovely looking cake. My daughter wants a two tier fruit and the third being lollie. This is going to be a square cake and want to know how long before can it be made and what did you ice it with since the other tiers will be almond iced. Thanks
    Lynette


  7. Hi Lynette, I would think it could be made a week or so in advance – ensure it’s somewhere cool, the fridge (though let it come to room temperature before icing or it will sweat) or just a cool room or cupboard. I’d ice it the same way as you do the fruit tiers – though it will be very sweet that probably doesn’t bother fans of lolly cake. πŸ˜‰ Good luck!



Leave a Reply

