h1

Christmas Candies

December 26, 2008

christmas-candies1

Over the last couple of months one of the things that’s been keeping me busy has been making various truffles and candies as Christmas presents. I meant to take better photos (along with photos of all the cakes I made, which I completely forgot about, sorry!) once these were completed, but this is all I ended up with. There were 12 trays like this, plus some readymade white containers I filled, and then my flatmates demolished the leftovers. 😉 The contents of the boxes included Tim-Tam truffles, ‘Toffeepud truffles’ (Toffeepop truffles with bits of glace cherry mixed in), peanut butter truffles, salted caramels, almond praline, chocolate covered marzipan, hokey pokey crunch, and a couple of other bits and pieces. It was heaps of work, but quite fun experimenting (and taste-testing, of course!), and soooo satisfying when I filled all the boxes up. And now that Christmas is over I have space in my cupboards and spare storage containers again – something that’s been a bit lacking for the last wee while. 😉

Anyway, I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas – and I’ll be back with more in the New Year (we’re off to Kaikoura tomorrow for a quick break, so will definitely be awol for the next few days).

3 comments

  1. Rosa, that is an amazing assortment of chocolates! Wow, I am so impressed and it’s obvious so much work has gone into making them. Bravo! 😀


  2. Hello, I love to make chocolates but I can only ever find recipes for the basic truffles or cream cheese combinations, I would love it if you could share some of your recipes for these very yummy and inventive looking chocolates! Thank you, Rosie x
    P.S your cakes are amazing!


  3. Hi Rosie,

    They’re all pretty simple. 🙂 Two of them are cream cheese/cookie combos – the little pudding ones are made with toffee cookies and I also mixed chopped glace cherries through to make them more festive.

    I made caramels (it was a Daring Bakers challenge, I think the recipe is a bit further back on the blog) and just added a bit of sea salt.

    Two were basically just chocolate – one where I spread out the chocolate and sprinkled 100s & 1000s (multicoloured sprinkles if that’s not what you call them!) on top, then cut them into little squares, the other I made toffee (just by melting sugar and spreading it out on tin foil), then splintered it into little pieces and mixed that through the melted chocolate, then again spread it out to set.

    A couple are nuts encased in toffee (so basically praline – one I used little candy cases, and encased a whole hazelnut by pouring toffee over it, and the other I used almonds – three in each tiny cupcake paper (same idea), then dipped in chocolate. That one needs a bit of refining, though, because the cupcake papers didn’t come off the set toffee easily and it took me a long time to pick the paper off so I could dip them in chocolate!

    One was a marzipan sweet – I rolled marzipan around a whole almond, then dipped the whole thing in chocolate – and the last one was a peanut butter chocolate truffle; I mixed peanut butter into ganache then rolled it into balls and dipped in chocolate.

    Sorry none of these are really recipes but I was really just making it up as I went along! 😉 Let me know if you have any questions, though – sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your question.

    Cheers,
    Rosa



Leave a Reply

