h1

Cake or Death?

November 30, 2008

tile200-chocolate_truffle_cNot Quite Nigella is running a chocolate cake competition, and I decided that an 11th hour entry was essential, despite having baked a horde of cakes already this week, including a wedding cake for yesterday (post to come very soon!). Anyway, as you’ll know if you’re at all familiar with my blog, I do tend to make the occasional chocolate cake…But I decided my regular chocolate cake recipe (which I do highly recommend, as a reasonably failsafe, delicious and moist cake) was just not exciting or challenging enough.

aerial-of-cake

So this is my cake. Looks fairly harmless, does it not? Boring even, you might say…

tower-of-cakeBut… It’s a huge tower of cake! That’s a 20cm cake that is 12.3cm high! (yes, I had to measure it) It is a crazy concoction of deliciousness, decided upon after much umming and ahhing. This is a five-layer cake, in alternating layers of Rose Levy-Beranbaum’s White Chocolate Whisper Cake and Donna Hay’s Rich Chocolate Cake, filled with White Chocolate Mussoline buttercream (another Rose Levy-Beranbaum recipe) and a cream-based chocolate mousse (concocted without a recipe) and all topped with a rich dark chocolate glaze. Phew! And I can assure you that it is quite deadly! Want to see the guts of it? Brace yourselves!

cross-section-shotNow, be aware, this is not your everyday chocolate cake (although the white chocolate whisper cake is a perfectly respectable everyday cake on its own), and in fact a normal-sized slice would probably clog your arteries instantly, but a tiny sliver with a small scoop of homemade vanilla ice-cream goes down a treat – a delicious way to finish off the weekend!

I promise I’ll update the post with recipes tomorrow, but at the moment it’s sleepy time – if you happen to be reading this and think you might be in the area in the next day or so let me know, though, because I just might be able to reserve a slice for you – we’re going to need some help with this one!

6 comments

  1. Brilliant, brilliant stuff! And 12.3cms high, it’s a feaet of engineering! πŸ™‚


  2. Ooooh, do you need help with that?


  3. Wow. That could be the tallest chocolate cake I’ve ever seen! πŸ˜€


  4. Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!


  5. […] Ultimate Chocolate Cake round-up December 17, 2008 A little while ago I made a ridiculously tall chocolate cake for a challenge run by one of my favourite food bloggers, Not Quite Nigella. She’s now taking […]


  6. […] Rosa from Cakes by Rosa made a Cake or Death cake, a sky high creation measuring 20cms in diameter and 12.3 cms high which she calls her Deadliest Chocolate cake! A warning though, reading on the full description on this is going to make you want some-stat! […]



Leave a Reply

