h1

Daring Bakers Caramel Cake

November 29, 2008

toffeeeeeeeeee

It’s that time again – Daring Bakers reveal day! I’ve skipped the past two months (very naughty of me, missing two in a row) but I’ve been busy with uni (you probably noticed the lack of posts!) and battling it out with my stomach to figure out what it was I couldn’t eat (soy, but I tested gluten and dairy along the way). But I’m back, and just in time for a fabulous challenge courtesy of Dolores, Alex and Jenny, with help from Natalie. The task at hand was to reproduce Shuna Fish Lydon’s signature caramel cake with caramelised butter icing.

caramel-cake

I found it pretty straightforward – fun making something a bit different, especially the butter icing, and it was utterly delicious. We still have a little caramel syrup leftover, which is going to go nicely over some of our fresh homemade vanilla ice-cream sometime very soon!

caramelsThere was also a bonus challenge this month; to make Golden Vanilla Bean Caramels, from Alice Medrich’s Pure Dessert. These were a little more challenging – not because they were difficult, so much, as just a little bit stressful not knowing how long I was supposed to wait for the mixture to get to temperature. I do enjoy this sort of cooking, though – very chemical-reaction like, although requires a fair bit of patience and attentiveness to catch the change at the right stage! However, these turned out very well, and I pressed some vanilla sea salt into the tops of the caramels once they had set.

Thanks to this month’s hosts, and I look forward to December’s challenge… Bring it on! 🙂

6 comments

  1. Your cake looks great. I love the decorations.


  2. Beautiful caramel shards around the sides. Nice touch!!


  3. Thank you! 🙂 It was such fun smashing up the toffee!


  4. I’m glad you enjoyed the cake and the caramels. Thanks for baking with us this month.


  5. Thanks Dolores, it was a great challenge – not something I would have thought of making myself, but definitely on the make-again list, because it was sooooooooo delicious!


  6. Great job! I’m glad that you figured out what was ailing you…now you can enjoy what you cook. I love the shards of caramel along the cake. I tried to do something like that, but mine wouldn’t harden!



Leave a Reply

