h1

White Chocolate Creme Brulee

October 17, 2008

My sister gave me a little kitchen blowtorch for my birthday, so of course I had to trial it at the first opportunity. After I got over the initial thrill (burning sugar in a plate, and on Hamish’s porridge) I dug out the recipe for white chocolate creme brulee I’ve been meaning to try for aaaaages (from Donna Hay’s Chocolate cookbook, which I highly recommend, by the way) , and my flatmate’s girlfriend mentioned she happened to have a packet mix for creme brulee that her family in America had sent her, and proffered it for the experimentation.

First I made the packet mix one, which took all of about 5 minutes, and then just had to set in the fridge for a couple of hours (no baking). Then I set about the white chocolate version, which did take a bit longer to put together, and then an hour in the oven, and then at least four hours in the fridge…

The packet mix one (above) was very smooth, as creme brulee should be, and quite sweet – but not bad at all. My made-from-scratch white chocolate version (below) was a little less smooth (which I attribute to some amount of inattention on my part while cooking the custard), but richer and overall tasted better – as you’d hope, given the extra effort required.

And yes, I had plenty of fun burning the sugar. Apologies for the blurred photo – I took a couple but all are blurred, so I must have had some sort of pre-emptive sugar rush or something…

2 comments

  1. Want!


  2. Can’t have! If you bought me ingredients I might be coerced to make you some, though… So long as I get a cut! ;-p



Leave a Reply

