h1

UCanDance Topsy Turvy Cake and Cupcakes

September 11, 2008

Last weekend the University Dance Club (or UCanDance) celebrated its 15th anniversary with a dinner and big party. We decided that, since it was a birthday party and birthday parties need cake, a cake was essential. Also, because people like cake a lot, we figured adding cupcakes wouldn’t do any harm, either.

I made 48 full-sized carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese icing, and topped all of them with a chocolate UCanDance logo – a little man dancing with a ribbon. Then I churned out another 110 mini cupcakes with just cream cheese icing. Our dining table had a lovely blanket of cake for a while… Shame we had to relinquish it. šŸ˜‰

The cake was a topsy-turvy mud cake, with chocolate ganache and fondant icing. The colour scheme and flames refer to UCanDance’s biggest annual event, which is a Latin dance party called Fuego – Spanish for fire.

If you want to know more about the club, the website is ucandance.org – and I have more cake to post, and a recipe, but that’ll have to be a bit later. Sorry I’ve been a bit lax with posting this one – I’ve had three tests this week, but now they’re over hopefully I’ll get to catching up on other stuff!

9 comments

  1. One of the few cakes that Rosa makes that I actually got to sample – and it was delicious.


  2. You did freeze me a piece, right? right?


  3. Um, yeah… Or, well, something. I, ah, have some leftover fondant…?


  4. Yeah, because fondant totally isn’t what I don’t like šŸ˜‰


  5. Rosa, I love the little man dancing with the ribbon, it’s so detailed and lovely!


  6. Thanks Lorraine! I can’t take credit for the design, as it’s the club logo – but I think it survived the transfer to cupcakes very well. šŸ™‚


  7. This looks fantastic. I always wanted to try and make a cake using fondant, but I could never find a place that sells it by itself. Is modeling chocolate the same thing?


  8. Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!


  9. Hi Jason, apologies for the long delay in replying. Fondant is not always called fondant – it depends where you live. In New Zealand and Australia (and possibly the UK, although I am unsure on that) it’s sold as white icing – it’s the stuff people put on Christmas cakes. Alternatively, you can make your own – a quick search will turn up heaps of recipes, although I haven’t tried this yet. Modelling chocolate is different – it’s a mixture of chocolate and glucose syrup, whereas fondant is mainly just sugar.



Leave a Reply

