h1

Daring Bakers – Chocolate Eclairs

August 31, 2008

This month’s Daring Baker’s challenge was to recreate Pierre Herme’s chocolate eclairs, as chosen by Tony and Meeta. The recipe calls for a chocolate pastry cream filling as well as the chocolate glaze, and although we had the freedo to swap one of these for a non-chocolate option, well, seriously, chocolate! Who am I to swap that mighty flavour for another?

I was a little disappointed with my choux – it looked beautiful until I took it out of the oven, but immediately deflated – which no doubt means I undercooked it a bit. Never mind, though, it tasted great, and didn’t look too bad once packed full of delicious chocolate pastry cream. They were a bit too delicious, in fact – we managed to consume the massive batch far too quickly, and even with the help of four boys I felt a tad guilty… Also, we couldn’t bear to wait long enough for me to take a good photo… So sorry about that!

Be sure to check out all the other amazing eclairs on the Daring Bakers’ Blogroll!

9 comments

  1. your eclairs look good, sorry they deflated a bit. I actually might have over baked a bit cause they were a bit brown on the bottom.


  2. Mmmm, you make me wish I’d stuck with chocolate on chocolate. Looks delicious!


  3. It was just wonderfully tasty, wasn’t it?
    Yours look very delicious and creamy. ^_^


  4. They look wonderful and delicious! Can’t blame you for eating them up quickly!


  5. yeah, mine deflated too… but still tasted amazing! I love how fat your eclairs are!


  6. Nice job! My 1st batch deflated as well but 2nd faired much better.


  7. Looks like many DBs had an issue with deflating eclairs.
    I baked them about 5 to 10 minutes longer than instructed so maybe that helped. But the humidity here soon put paid to that achievement!


  8. In spite of the deflating problem, your eclairs look marvelous and delicious.


  9. Wow, thanks for all the lovely comments!



Leave a Reply

