h1

Wedding Cake – with pillars

August 13, 2008

I was asked to make the wedding cake for a family friend’s wedding on Saturday. She asked for a two-tier cake with gold pillars and rosebuds on top – and the rest was up to me. I quite like the Swiss dot look, so thought I’d give that a shot. The bottom tier (which is 30cm, or 12″) is chocolate cake with chocolate ganache filling, and the top tier (20cm/8″) is orange cake with orange buttercream. I also made a 25cm/10″ orange cake for the kitchen (so there was enough to go around).

9 comments

  1. Wow, it’s amazing!!!


  2. Thanks. πŸ™‚ About 10 hours to make… But I’m pretty pleased with it. πŸ™‚


  3. Wowzers! That’s an awesome cake! I hope it was nom!!


  4. Why thank you, Tronathor. Word from sources close to the bride tell me it was nom – but the cake scraps surely told that story. πŸ™‚


  5. […] I was asked to make the wedding cake for a family friend’s wedding on Saturday. She asked for a two-tier cake with gold pillars and rosebuds on top – and the rest was up to me. I quite like the Swiss dot look, so thought I’d give that a shot. The bottom tier (which is 30cm, or 12β€³) is chocolate cake with chocolate ganache filling, and the top tier (20cm/8β€³) is orange cake with orange buttercream. I also made a 25cm/10β€³ orange cake for the kitchen (so there was enough to go around). Source: https://cakesbyrosa.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/wedding-cake-with-pillars/ […]


  6. Can you tell me where to get the gold pillars – i am searching for them for a 50th anniversary cake.
    thanks


  7. Your local cake decorating supply store, or there are tons of stores online. I’m in New Zealand, so can’t specifically help you unless you are too – in which case let me know and I’ll give you some names. πŸ™‚


  8. Hi there, that cake is beautiful.

    I’ve just been asked to do a 2 tier cake with pillars for March and was wondering where you found yours?

    I know that you can have pillars that sit on the cake or go into the cake? Which do you think are better?


  9. Hi Lissina,

    You should be able to get pillars from your local cake decorating store. I think the ones that go into the cake are better – otherwise you need to use dowels through the middle anyway to support the top tier.



Leave a Reply

