h1

Cake Decorating in Auckland!

July 1, 2008

Months ago (as soon as the exam schedule was released and I knew I didn’t have an exam on Saturday) I booked myself a place on Milly’s Wilton Course 1, which was this weekend just gone.

It was really good – great instructor, and everyone was pretty friendly. Some of it was pretty basic, but there was plenty for me to learn – I now know how to use several of the mystery piping tips from my toolbox. 🙂 I also got the chance to catch up with one of my schoolfriends, which was great fun. And of course I came home with a prettily decorated cake (although very girly!).

The cake was the white chocolate cake I made a few weeks ago, and we iced with the Wilton buttercream recipe, which uses vegetable shortening instead of butter – I’m not such a fan. Using shortening means that the colour is a true white, but I’d rather use butter! It doesn’t taste bad – just like sugar and fat (which is not so different from buttercream with butter…), but it’s probably not going to catch on with me…

The techniques will be very useful, though. And it was a nice end-of-term/exams-are-over treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

