h1

Aunty Jenny’s 50th Birthday

June 16, 2008

My Dad’s younger sister, my Aunty Jenny, turns 50 tomorrow – so in celebration a reasonably sized chunk of family gathered at a restaurant for dinner on Saturday night. Given my hobby, I was asked to make a cake, which I gladly did – and this is the outcome. It’s my standard chocolate cake, with chocolate ganache as icing and toffee pieces around the outside. I like toffee – I think it looks really good, and usually gets gobbled up, too – but sometimes it gets a tad annoying because of its tendancy to stick to everything!

2 comments

  1. Hey, awesome cake! I kinda want to do something similar for a house warming… Just wanted to know how you made the Toffee in those patterns? (did you use baking paper etc) I’m really interested in exploring cooking and enjoy the creativity! thanks again


  2. Thanks Matthew! I made the shapes by melting sugar and then just dripping it over baking paper, as you suggested. It would also work with a silicon baking sheet or even tin foil. Good luck! 🙂



Leave a Reply

