h1

Cupcakes… with a difference!

April 28, 2008

So, I wanted to make something different for dinner tonight… And what better than cupcakes? I mean, they’re tasty, cute, and I have these great new silicone cupcake cups, so I don’t have toΒ  buy papers (the silicone goes in the oven, microwave, freezer, dishwasher… Pretty much anywhere, really!).

The boys were a bit worried when I brought out a plate of cupcakes and announced dinner was ready. However, on closer inspection… They realised the cream cheese frosting has been replaced with mashed spud, and the ‘cupcake’ is actually lentil loaf (like meatloaf but no meat!). Gotcha!

And I have to thank Lorraine, from Not Quite Nigella, for the inspiration for tonight’s meal – check out her version (hers are much prettier than mine!) here.

4 comments

  1. Hehe I love it! Their expressions must’ve been priceslss when you brought them out. πŸ˜†


  2. One of them groaned with despair; I think he was mortified by the idea of yet more cake (they’ve been eating wedding cake remnants and tea party leftovers all weekend!), and my partner demanded to know where they’d come from. It was well worth it! Thanks heaps for the idea; I’ll have to work on my potato-piping skills to try to reach your high standards. What tip did you use, by the way? I’ve been trying to get one like it but don’t know the number. πŸ™‚


  3. Hehe my husband gets like that when I bake too much sweet cake. I have a set of Tonkin Thermo tube star tips, and there are some numbers on the side of the tips. The one I used says 13 on the side-hope that helps! πŸ™‚


  4. Thanks, I’ll go a-hunting. πŸ™‚ I’ve been after that for cupcake tops for a while, so hopefully I can hunt one down!



Leave a Reply

