h1

Happy Birthday, Hamish!

April 18, 2008

It’s my other half’s birthday today, and in honour of his ridiculous affection for truly disgusting foods, I made him a bran* cake:

Doesn’t it look… not very appetising? Well, I can assure you, appetising is certainly not the word here! He also told me he didn’t want sugar, so it’s basically like a large unbuttery scone with a whole bunch of fibre thrown in… Not particulary tasty!

Anyway, once I was done torturing him with bran (although he insists that it’ll be great with yoghurt) I revealed his real cake:

I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked on this (my stealthy time at my parents’ place making and decorating consisted of less than three hours from start to finish) but it got a good reaction. He figured out before it was revealed that I had probably made a cake, but he wasn’t expecting a mountain of cake, even less so with a mini-me Hamish snowboarding down it…

The cake is raspberry sponge filled with chocolate mousse and raspberries (I used my funky filled cake tins), and the icing is a meringue frosting (I believe it may be a mildly hack version of Italian meringue frosting, but I found the recipe quickly, it was straightforward to make, and it tastes yummy!). It’s actually two filled cakes, one on top of the other – and then the top 10cm or so is just all frosting!

* I don’t mind bran, so long as it’s well disguised with some other flavour – like copious quantities of sugar and fruit, say, or mixed with yoghurt and muesli. But when it’s cake you’re after – well, it’s cake! It’s not supposed to be healthy!

6 comments

  1. LOL Rosa, what a great way to celebrate Hamish’s birthday! He must have been really chuffed! Happy Birthday Hamish!


  2. Thanks Leanne! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hamish says thank you too!


  3. HE DIDN’T WANT SUGAR????
    That boy’s a nutter (though I admit I’d probably like the bran cake too, preferably warmed with butter. Or yoghurt. And containing sugar.)
    The mountain cake though? That just sounds way too tasty for me to be reading about ๐Ÿ˜›


  4. ๐Ÿ˜‰ He claims he didn’t know I was actually going to make a bran cake (despite the fact I had flour and bran in a bowl and he was not more than five metres away at the time) and so perhaps he would have had sugar – it was mighty mighty dry and tasted of bran. I’ll endorse the other one, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰


  5. That’s so funny-but I love the “real” cake!


  6. Thanks Lorraine! ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

