h1

Red velvet cupcakes

April 13, 2008

Sunday night tea is a bit of a ritual in my [extended] family – everyone brings a plate, and depending on who’s in town or happened to be visiting around teatime the number of people at the table can be anywhere between 6 and 20 – although it’s usually somewhere in the middle. If my weekend allows me to make the trip across town to partake I like to use it as an excuse to bake (of course!) and today decided my new cupcake stand needed another outing – and what better flavour of cake to make than red velvet?

Red velvet cake dates (I believe) from around the 1930’s, when it was popular in the southern US. The name comes from the distinctive colour created by the combination of cocoa and buttermilk – although the more refined cocoa we have now generally leaves the cake brown, so most recipes now also call for red food colouring – and the wonderfully velvety texture of the finished product. The traditional icing for red velvet cake is cream cheese icing – which makes it even better. πŸ˜‰ If you’re in the US you might already have know most of that, but red velvet cake is relatively unknown here in New Zealand, so I thought I’d explain. πŸ™‚

And if you’re still reading, and you’re likely to see me/be able to stop by in the next day or so, let me know, because tonight was a relatively small gathering for tea, and I overbaked slightly (purely accidental, of course! πŸ˜‰ ) so I have some leftovers and you might be able to snag a cupcake for yourself if you’re quick. πŸ˜‰ Just send me a text or comment here.

3 comments

  1. Gah… I knew I shouldn’t have looked at this at tea-time!

    For some reason this thing won’t let me post because I’m “posting comments too quickly”

    Let’s see if this works…


  2. Hehe, dangerous time to be drooling. πŸ™‚ Sorry!


  3. Heh, that’s ok. They were yummy!:P



Leave a Reply

