h1

Crunchie cake

April 5, 2008

This afternoon I made people eat cake. šŸ™‚ A couple of posts ago I asked for suggestions for a cake to make for some friends/local readers to come and eat. šŸ™‚ The first suggestion took my fancy, so I decided to make a crunchie cake. The cake was a plain white cake (although the recipe I used was far too sickly sweet for my liking), and in the cake itself I hid some squares of Cadbury Crunchie chocolate (the sort that comes in a block). I iced it with chocolate buttercream, coated the outsides with crushed Crunchie bar, and then made the weird sculpture bits out of Crunchie chocolate. Unfortunately they didn’t last long – molding off-the-shelf chocolate doesn’t work very well (which I knew – but I wanted to try anyway, because I knew it would be more interesting!). I would have liked to have added some homemade hokey-pokey, but really didn’t have time, sadly.

The cake was only half demolished – it is terribly sweet so hard to eat much of at a time! – which various family members will be pleased about, as I will take the remainder with me to my great aunt’s 80th tomorrow. šŸ™‚

I have spent a large part of my day in the kitchen, and the birthday cake for tomorrow will pop up sometime tomorrow, once it’s all decorated. šŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. It was om nom. And those zucchini muffins (sorry, cupcakes!) were yummy, too šŸ˜€ Thanks heaps for feeding me again!


  2. Thanks Mr Oakley! Thanks for eating!


  3. i just came on this site n i saw ur crunchie cake pictured and it look’s gawjus !!!!!!!!!!!


  4. i never thought of doing crunchie on the outside its a great idea and im gonna try it. Thanks you for sharing.


  5. Thanks Dawn! Super tasty too. šŸ˜‰



Leave a Reply

