h1

Inspire me and get free cake!

March 31, 2008

So, I have no cake orders or important things to bake for this week, and am trying to avoid over-indulging (since I’m supposedly training for a half-marathon, sugar is not my best friend right now!), but I want to bake! So if you’re reading this, and you’re in Christchurch, comment with an interesting idea for a cake and I’ll pick one, bake it, and then share it with anyone who’s keen (most likely on Saturday afternoon). So comment away!

Edit: Of course, even if you’re not in Christchurch you’re more than welcome to suggest, and I will post photos – it just might be harder to give you actual cake!

24 comments

  1. What sort of cake are you wanting to bake?
    If you’re after sometying to practice making all fancy and pretty, you should make a dragon to terrorise the Fairy Tale castle :p (and be eaten as punishment!)

    If you’re jusdt wanting to try and make a cake, you should try to make something that tastes like Crunchie bars- a hokey pokey chocolate cake!

    Or combine the two into magnificent Dragon-y chololatey-hokeypokey-y glory!!

    ‘K, I’m done now. πŸ˜›


  2. Oh gosh, please excuse all the terrible typos!


  3. Mmm, Crunchie bar cake… Definite potential. I think the dragon-sculpting might be a little too labour-intensive this time, but it sounds fun – maybe later! See, it would have to be super-fancy with scales and things for it to be good, and that would take a very long time, probably.


  4. It’s Aunty Pamela’s 80th on Sunday. Something golden & glorious, yet healthy? (is that possible?) We have zucchinis we can’t eat fast enough, cooking apples for Africa falling off our trees – so feel free to pop by for any of them (and team them up with walnuts from your M&Ds tree)… Oh, I can even give you some free range eggs πŸ˜‰


  5. I forgot about Aunty Pamela’s birthday when I wrote the post, but yes, I’m on cake duty for that already! πŸ™‚ She asked for the orange cake I brought to tea the other week (without the chocolate mousse), so I’ll decorate that up. And wow, what an offer… I have been meaning to make zucchini cake for soooo long, I might have to pop by if you really can’t eat them fast enough!


  6. BRAN!!111!!1


  7. You’d better be careful what you wish for, Kaiba…


  8. CakeFiend like Cake
    CakeFiend also like Campbell’s Condensed Tomato Soup

    CakeFiend not saying it has to be tomato flavoured – (red velvet cake – hint)


  9. Mmm, Campbell’s Soup… I mean Red Velvet cake… Yum!


  10. I have just picked 2 zucchini this morning, there are 2 more in the fridge from the other day. You’re welcome to them as it’s the one thing I am experiencing an aversion for with this pregnancy (they have to be well hidden for me to stomach it). Oh, and a bag of green apples if you want to do something with them, and I could give you half a dozen of fresh eggs – 2 from this morning πŸ˜‰ So please, do pop by if it’s not out of your way πŸ™‚


  11. If you are after ingredients we have a dead possum…seems they like mixed dried fruit. Dad says try a pumpkin cake. How about a dalek cake?


  12. Um, yeah. Shall we keep it carcass-free, please? I don’t much fancy possum cake… Pumpkin Dalek cake? Or are you suggesting Dalek as an ingredient? :-p


  13. First catch your Dalek…Seems some Dr Who fans are planning to watch the Christmas special on Saturday night in our front room, all cake welcome!


  14. Hmmm, Emma suggested something with orange and chocolate or orange and cinnamon.

    I miss proper, baked cheesecake (yes, the German variety), and I’m sure either of these flavour combinations would work well (yum). Ummm, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheese_cake#Middle_European

    Just for heavens sake, don’t put any raisins in there…

    So yeah, cheesecake. It’s different from all your cakes that I’ve tried. And it doesn’t really fit your whole awesome icing treatment. But if you get the taste right, it will be epic! πŸ˜€


  15. Sorry, Doctor Who fans, I don’t think cake is coming to your side of town tomorrow – you’ll either have to come and get it, or wait until Sunday. :-p

    And mmm, cheesecake… Tempting…


  16. I might even help you and translate this recipe. Hmmmm, you know you want to! πŸ˜‰

    http://www.kaesekuchen.de/base/rezept.php?UID=245


  17. Your sister will just have to have possum pizza – she did tell her potential guests the toppings would be added after they arrived. Not sure whether the various uncles and aunts from North and South need to be fed/ want to see Dr Who. They can wait until Sunday.


  18. Well, I will bring plenty of cake with me on Sunday anyway…


  19. Hey Rosa – I know I’m mega late with suggestions but I came to the conclusion that not enough PINK cake exists in this world. Easy solution is to use more pink food colouring, but the INTERESTING solution is to look for recipes online, like this one http://homecooking.about.com/od/cakerecipes/r/blc97.htm

    I think it looks pretty interesting…If you’re not keen on trying it let me know…because I think I will!!!

    oh and also – crunchie cake looked WICKED!


  20. Thanks, Emma… Hmm, that is an intriguing recipe. Maybe you should try it out! I would like to, but some of my eating audiences are less suited to alcohol-based things, and at the moment I don’t have any other good excuses. If you do try it out you’ll have to take photos and show me (or bring me cake, I wouldn’t argue with that! πŸ˜‰ )

    Also, do you know of the marvel that is red velvet cake? Supposedly you shouldn’t need the food colouring, although I think the fact that we use more refined cocoa now makes the natural red come out less… But it’s a magically good cake, especially with cream cheese icing. I’m planning to make one of those soonish. πŸ™‚


  21. […] while ago I asked for suggestions for a cake to make, and one of the suggestions I didn’t use at the time was to make a red […]


  22. […] while ago I asked for suggestions for a cake to make, and one of the suggestions I didn’t use at the time was to make a red […]


  23. HELLO TO YOU I WANT FREE CAKE….NOW…..please


  24. love your cakes all so nice.
    my daughter just started making cakes and i think
    i will send her your link.

    can you give me any idea for her to use up cake that you have left when you cut cakes into shapes?

    Especially can you make a cake from all the pieces

    if you freeze them till you get a lot. If so how

    could you do this .

    idea for a cake would be

    surprise in cake as title

    and add a soft candy in the center of a white

    cake .



Leave a Reply

