h1

Fairy Castle Wedding Cake

March 29, 2008

Β 

This is what I’ve been slaving away at all week (in between the tests at uni, that is!) – a friend got married today, and asked if I would make a cake for his wedding. However, although they definitely wanted tiers, that’s about where the traditional wedding bit ended! They wanted green and pink, and a fairy castle on the top. Overall I’m pretty pleased with it, although it’s not as perfect as I’d like – but it certainly made an impression.

The bottom layer is strawberry butter cake with strawberry buttercream icing, the middle cake is chocolate mud cake with ganache, and the top layer (and the castle) is carrot cake with cream cheese icing. In addition to the main cake, I made two more strawberry cakes, and one each of the other flavours for cutting (they had a big afternoon tea reception), and a low gluten strawberry butter cake, since there were a couple of people with intolerances and allergies.

15 comments

  1. That is pretty cool!


  2. Thank you! πŸ™‚


  3. I enjoyed reading this blog, not specifically this entry but the whole thing!


  4. That is one unique cake. Really beautiful!


  5. Thanks Michael, glad you enjoy reading. πŸ™‚ And Del, I appreciate your comment – the bride and groom knew what they wanted, and traditional was not it!


  6. That’s awesome! Looks yummy, too. πŸ˜€


  7. Thanks Mr Oakley… You’re just angling for cake. :-p I can see right through you! πŸ˜‰


  8. I have tasted all three layers… yummmmmm
    Father of the Groom “Seal of Approval”


  9. I’m glad you approve! Thanks. πŸ™‚


  10. That’s one tasty castle right there πŸ™‚


  11. Thats one awesome cake right there πŸ˜€

    Rosa made it for my wedding, and its so tasty, the ammount im having to give away in cake boxes cos people want seconds….


  12. Hehe, I’m glad you have enough leftovers to be able to give them away! And I had much fun making, thanks for letting me be a part of your big day! πŸ™‚


  13. rosa, you are so awesome.


  14. Thanks Emma! You should go to my latest post and tell me what I should make, then come eat some. πŸ™‚


  15. great cake! I am currently researching honeymoon spots so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf for Wedding blogs, more or less anyway. I’m bookmarking you for future reference thank you for your valued point of view



Leave a Reply

