h1

French Toast

March 12, 2008

Well, I am working on my next set of cakes, but in the meantime I thought I’d share my favourite lazy weekend brunch with you. We were feeling a bit indulgent on Sunday, so I cooked up some yummy french toast. My favourite bread to use is fruit bread – a bit of extra spice makes it perfect! – but this weekend it was just regular bread.

French Toast (serves 2)
Ingredients
6 slices of fruit bread
3 eggs
1 tin pears
Brown sugar
Cinnamon
Maple syrup (real stuff, okay? It’s the only way!)

Method
Heat up a frying pan (I use my electric one, which is great – since it’s rectangular it fits exactly 6 pieces of toast!), and add a little butter if you like (or if it’s not non-stick).

Break the eggs into a bowl, add a little cinnamon and beat until combined.  Dip each slice of bread in the egg mixture – it should be pretty well used up by the time you’re done. Place the bread in the frying pan. Turn when browned, and remove once browned on both sides.

Slice in half, sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon, adorn with pears and drizzle with maple syrup. Decadent and wonderful!

Leave a Reply

