h1

More Sydney stuff…

March 3, 2008

I’ve been sorting through the rest of our Sydney photos, and have found the most droolworthy. Hopefully you approve…

The day after we arrived was Tropfest, an annual Australian short film contest (the largest in the world, apparently). In the Domain they’d put up enormous screens and hence created a great opportunity for a night out. We decided to go along, but needed a picnic. This is where Bread Top comes in; located in the World Tower in the CBD, this little bakery was right next to the supermarket we’d shopped at the previous day, and seemed a likely location for obtaining provisions. It’s full to the brim with Asian breads and pastries, and we actually shopped there later in the week for a picnic lunch, and were entirely pleased with all our choices.

Our pastries were (clockwise from top, and sorry for the not-proper names!) custard-almond thing, red bean, er, thing, sesame ball, and melon ball. We bought iced tea to drink from the Asian supermarket which shares the same shop front, and it was all delicious. Later in the week we tried a red bean bun, a chocolate cone, another sesame ball (they were quite yummy!) and a chicken roll (that was Hamish’s – I did not renege on my vegetarianism for a pastry, although it did look tasty).

I mentioned the chocolates from Just William before, but here is more evidence. I also actually managed to recall what these were in time to write them down. They are, clockwise from top left; chilli lime (interesting, maybe a once-er, though); coffee liqueur (yummy!); turkish delight (yummy, although not spectacular); praline cup (Hamish’s choice, very tasty); caramel mushroom; and marzipan praline (a bit of a letdown, but I might be picky when it comes to marzipan).

The caramel mushroom, which I hastily photographed after taking my bite – apologies for the picture quality but if I’d spent any time setting it up the evidence would probably have vanished from under the lens 😉 – was a curiously layered treat; yummy thick layers of chocolate with the stem filled with oozing caramel, and the top filled with crunchy wafer. Tasty and unique!

These are the chocolates we bought from the Lindt chocolate cafe (see my dearly beloved scoffing ice-cream here), and which I managed to refrain from even starting to eat for three whole days! Clockwise from top left, they are; cappucino; dark ganache; kahlua; dark chocolate; milk ganache; strawberry. They were all tasty – as for favourites I was torn between the strawberry and the dark chocolate – but they weren’t earth-shaking. If you want to spend money at the Lindt cafe (and it’s not cheap!) I’d recommend the ice-cream or cakes… Then go to David Jones for chocolate! Which brings me to the last lot of choccy goodness…

These were from the chocolate counter in the food hall at David Jones, which was quite possibly my highlight of the whole holiday (aren’t I a disgrace? A whole week in Sydney and my big moment is in a department store… I’m beyond help). Now, by this stage even I was beginning to think I’d bought too many chocolates, although I lusted after many others in the counter… So I stopped at just four. Clockwise from left, they are; orange/dark chocolate ganache;  something-I-can’t-quite-remember praline; clementine orange; and lemon. These were probably the tastiest bunch over all, with a special mention for the orange/dark choc one – absolutely magnificent! I want to go back, just to get more of that smooth, dark, orangey ganache!

That food hall – it was like heaven! There was a deli, cheese counter, antipasto counter… Just about every food type you can imagine. Lots of the counters had bars so you could sit in the midst of the hubbub and eat you lunch – we ate at the panini bar on the last day – it was a tough call though, between noodles, deli stuff, panini, antipasto…

You’re probably relieved to hear that I’ve now given you all my foodie pics from Sydney – the nest post will be actual food I’ve made – maybe not cake until the end of the week, though, although I promise an exciting one then! 😉 Stay posted!

Leave a Reply

