h1

Another chocolate cake…

February 6, 2008

For all my telling you there would be a pause in the baking I actually churned this out while knee-deep in boxes on Friday. I nearly didn’t post (up till now I’ve posted everything I’ve made since I started the blog, but I was quite unhappy with my photos on this one – although I was reasonably happy with the cake itself)…  But this is supposed to be a record of my cake efforts, not some seemless gallery of perfection, so here we go.

This is standard chocolate cake, with ganache icing (poured for smoothness, although there’s a little cracking) – I usually spread, because I find it easier and since I don’t have a good method for rescuing extra poured ganache (although hopefully soon I will get a tray and rack for this purpose) it’s quite wasteful. I made white chocolate tiles to go around it, and white chocolate lattices and white/milk chocolate heart tiles to top it. I like the concept of the tiles, and they did look moderately cool, but I need to refine my technique a little.

Having had immense fun (!) shifting on Saturday, I’ve now come down with a horrible coughing/wheezing thing, so I’m out of the kitchen for another few days, for fear of bringing everyone else down with me. Nyr! Oh well… These things happen, huh?

Now that I’ve ranted and raved, I’ll leave you with another photo of my cake, and the promise that more interesting treats will appear here very soon (I have a project in mind, that hopefully I’ll get a chance to make in the next week).

3 comments

  1. thanks for posting… yumm
    and the photos aren’t bad 🙂


  2. Thanks, Marcel! 🙂


  3. That cake looks wonderful! Are the tiles hard to do? They always look so good but I’ve never been game to try them but I love the look of them.



Leave a Reply

