h1

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

January 28, 2008

Today: cupcakes. I was itching to get back into the kitchen, and since this week is likely to be hectic and not very baking-friendly I figured I’d better get onto it today!

These are peanut butter cupcakes (inspired by, and recipe courtesy ofย Cuppycakes) with a chocolate buttercream frosting. I’ve wanted to try a peanut butter recipe for a while, and although I probably overcooked by maybe a minute or two they were still absolutely delicious!

I decided they needed a little extra decoration, and since I got some new cutters last week which I hadn’t had opportunity to try out, and some tinted icing left over from my kayak, I was all set to make stars and hearts! Now, I need a reason to make cookies so I can use my other new cutters (they’re too big to be decorations). ๐Ÿ˜‰

In case you want to try this yourself, here’s the recipe:
Peanut Butter Cupcakes
Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
6 Tbsp butter
3/4 of a cup (or about 200g) smooth peanut butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
Method:
– Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius.
– Sift flour and baking powder together and set aside.
– Beat the butter, peanut butter and brown sugar for about a minute or until colour lightens. Mix in egg, then add vanilla and beat for another minute, or until the batter is smooth.
– On low speed, add 1/3 of the flour mixture, then 1/2 the milk, and alternate until all mixed in and smooth.
– Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners, and divide the mixture evenly between the cups. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the tops feel firm and a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean.
Chocolate Buttercream
Ingredients:
75g butter
150g compound milk chocolate
Method:
– Melt chocolate, and stir until smooth. Let cool a little.
– Beat butter until light and fluffy. Add the slightly cooled but still liquid chocolate gradually, until all combined and smooth.
– Spread onto cooled cupcakes, or, if you’re too impatient like I am and can’t wait for the chocolate to cool, resulting in a runnier mixture, dip the cupcakes into the buttercream. ๐Ÿ˜‰

One comment

  1. Awesome job! Love the heart and stars decor. I’ll have to try your chocolate buttercream next time!



Leave a Reply

