h1

Chocolate Mousse

January 25, 2008

Not very pretty, but boy was this yummy! Hamish was talking the other night about how good chocolate mousse is (and who can argue with that?), so I decided to make some. I’ve never done this before, but that’s what recipes are for, isn’t it? And it turned out fine – I wanted to make a simple, ‘pure’ chocolate mousse, but next time I think some complementing flavour – perhaps orange – might give it an extra dimension. That or serving it layered with raspberries. It was sooooo rich on its own!

If you’d like to try this, the recipe is as follows:

Ingredients:
200g dark chocolate (or whatever you prefer – I used about 100g of 70% dark, as that was all I had left, and the rest milk)
400ml cream
4 eggs
50g castor sugar

– Melt chocolate – I usually do this in short bursts in the microwave, but make sure you don’t let it burn! Alternatively, use a heat-proof bowl over a simmering saucepan on the stove. Make sure you do this first so it has a chance to cool a little before you mix it with the eggs.
– Whip cream.
– Separate eggs and beat whites until fluffy, but stop before you get to the stiff peak stage.
– Beat sugar into yolks, just until disolved.
– Stir yolk mixture into the melted chocolate.
– Fold first some cream and then some egg white into the chocolate mixture, and continue to alternate, gradually folding, until all ingredients are mixed together.
– Spoon into your serving dishes or glasses and refrigerate for at least an hour (but no longer than a day, as raw egg is not a good thing to take a chance on).
– Enjoy!

I got the recipe from this website, randomly enough.

And yeah, I know it’s not cake. I’m trying to cut back on eating the stuff, and since noone else is demanding it at the moment I’ve not been able to justify it… But I have some new toys I need to play with, so I can’t hold out for too much longer!

One comment

  1. […] the shape, but the cake itself is very tasty, and so easy to make. The chocolate mousse I used was this recipe, with zest from two oranges added, and would make a great dessert by itself, […]



Leave a Reply

