h1

Cake Pie

January 13, 2008

Tonight we went to a birthday party of a friend, who is affectionately known by some of us as ‘Pie’, due to a habit he had when we were first getting of expressing things in terms of pies. If that makes any sense. Anyway, so the nickname has stuck, and since it’s his birthday, what could be more appropriate than cake pie?

I used store-bought pastry, because I’m lazy and had almost no time to do this in, baked blind the base, poured in some cake mix (my standard chocolate cake recipe, topped with a pastry lid, and baked. Now, you’ll have to excuse my scruffy pie edges, but a) I was using a cake tin, not a pie dish, so it was kinda hard to get in there to make them pretty and b) I was just too pressed for time! Admittedly, the time-shortage may have been related to the fact today was the hottest day of the year so far and we spent most of the afternoon at the beach, but surely that’s not relevant at all… 😉

As you can see, the pastry did crack a little, so you could see brown, but not enought that most people could guess what it was before it was cut (one person did – Erin, you’re too clever).

In case you’re wondering, the wedding cake is definitely still on its way – stay posted! 🙂

3 comments

  1. Brilliant. I think I would have guessed 😉


  2. It was om nom nom. I was curious what you put in there, as I expected it not to be meat. I didn’t guess it, though 😉


  3. did you need to change the cooking time because of the pastry?



Leave a Reply

