h1

This one’s a little grisly…

December 21, 2007

… So it’s hidden behind the tag below. It’s a cake, a cake with a difference. It was quite fun, actually, and although it took me a while to figure out a concept (the person who asked for it just said “we all have a sick sense of humour” and told me I could do what I liked) once I had the idea it wasn’t too hard to create…

As you can see, it is kinda sick… But hopefully amusing to the recipient (I’ll let you know how that goes!). A bunch of headless snowmen, spurting blood (of course snowmen bleed!), and the weapon left at the scene of the crime.

And here’s a close up of the carnage:

The snowmen are truffles, coated in white chocolate, the blood is royal icing (since I had an open packet and not an open packet of fondant) tinted with gel colour, and the axe is made from almond icing (again, open packet – there’s a fruit cake on the way!), with the handle dipped in chocolate. I actually stuck a toothpick down the middle of the handle to dip it, and then realised I’d have to keep holding it until the chocolate set… So for about 10 minutes yesterday I was walking around with a little brown stick in one hand trying to do everything with the other.

What do you think? Bad taste or amusing? 😉

Edit: the woman I made it for loved it, and I’ve since heard that everyone who came to dinner was highly amused by it as well. I think we’ll call that a success. 🙂

One comment

  1. Great! I love the idea of bleeding snowmen.



Leave a Reply

