h1

Elizabeth’s gift cake

December 7, 2007

I made this cake for someone at my work – the cake itself is a chocolate hazelnut torte, made from ridiculous quantities of dark chocolate and hazelnuts (and sugar, butter and 10 eggs – just five ingredients, for ultimate cake purity!). This means it’s gluten-free, so everyone here can eat it (just as well no-one is lactose intolerant or allergic to eggs or hazelnuts!).

I decided I wanted to make it resemble a gift, and although I’ve seen heaps of fantastic-looking fondant gift cakes I didn’t want to mix the fabulously rich and chocolatey flavour of the torte with pure sugar icing – so I used chocolate (what else?).  I lightly coated the cake in ganache, and then made walls and a roof from milk chocolate, and used white chocolate to mold a ribbon. That part was a bit harder than I expected – it took until 1am to finish! – and it’s not as tidy as I’d like, but I’m happy with the overall effect. I painted the chocolate walls with gold chocolate paint, as well, to make it a bit more festive.

Leave a Reply

