h1

Theun’s Cake

December 5, 2007

I made this cake for a friend’s birthday last week – he held a dessert party, and what better for me to make than one of my pretty cakes? It’s my standard chocolate cake recipe, iced with ganache, surrounded by white chocolate tiles, and topped with white chocolate curls, truffles, chocolate dipped strawberries and toffee shapes.

The truffles are Guylian truffles from the supermarket – I ran out of time for everything, and had visions of heaping everything on top in a haphazard manner. As you can see, it ended up quite organised-looking – I guess I’m too orderly for my own good sometimes!

It was my first time making toffee shapes, and I burnt them a little (you can see they’re a bit dark); I had a cool basin of water ready for when I took the pot off the stove, but evidently cooked the sugar for too long to start with. I wasn’t too unhappy with how they turned out, though, for a first effort. And everyone was very impressed with the cake. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

