h1

Mum’s 50th Cake

December 5, 2007

This is the cake I made for my Mum’s 50th this year; it contains about 1.5kg of chocolate, between the ganache, the tiles and the curls.

This was my first success at chocolate curls – I had tried making them once before but didn’t have instructions so gave up reasonably early on. It took a while for these to work because the chocolate wouldn’t set on the bench… Eventually I realised that the dishwasher had recently finished its cycle just under where I was working, and the heat was coming through!

The cake is my Mum’s chocolate cake recipe – what we always had for our birthdays when we were young – and makes a nice big cake, to go around the whole famdamily. I usually try to undercook it slightly so it’s extra moist in the middle, and this one was a big gooey (I wasn’t paying enough attention to how long it was in the oven) so messy to eat… But very tasty!

Leave a Reply

