h1

A sort of Daring Bakers round-up

June 1, 2008

I’ve spent a bit of time trawling through the amazing (and large!) Daring Bakers blogroll over the last couple of days, to see the impressive variety of Opera Cakes that the members have come up with. I’m amazed by what people have created, so want to share a few of my favourites here – I hope you enjoy looking (and drooling) too!

Lemonpi made this beautiful green tea, lemon and blackberry Opera Cake – it sounds delicious, and looks amazing!

Anita from Dessert First had another interesting , I-wish-I’d-thought-of-that flavour combination; her Opera Cake is Lemon and Lavender.

Very from Baking Obsession came up with this amazingly beautiful Opera Cake, with a white chocolate rose on top. Wow!

Addicted Sweet Tooth had the very gourmet flavour combination of pistachio and apricot - and stunning photography!

Pixie from Biting Goodness wrote a mini-opera about her experiences!

Hannah from Bittersweet came up with a whole new method for preparing a perfectly neat Opera Cake…

Judy from Judy’s Gross Eats came up with a fun twist on words for her cake – check it out here.

Speedbump Kitchen used one of my favourite non-traditional techniques to add the theme to her version.

La Casserole Carree is written in French, but her photos are beautiful enough to speak for themselves – and her Opera Cake has a gorgeous colour scheme!

Gabi from The Feast Within came up with an Opera Cake that I know will be appreciated by my youngest sister – and by me!

There are many other amazing cakes, so check the blogroll if you’re interested. :-) I can see from these (and many other spectacular examples) that I have a long way to go – but hey, it gives me something to aim for!

5 comments

  1. Thanks for the compliment :) Oh and I see a few cakes on the list that I have yet to check out!


  2. I’m flattered to have made your list, especially amongst so many other amazing cakes. Thanks for the mention! :)


  3. Thank you very much for the lovely compliment- there are truly so many amazing cakes out there- I appreciate the “shout out”!
    xoxo


  4. I’m always the last to know!!! LOL
    Thanks for the compliments and also, just so you know, even if my blog is in French, there is a multi-lingual translator offered in the right column… so everyone can read it (English, German, Italian, etc.). Granted the translation is not the best, for automatic translation is sometimes ridiculously incomprehensible… but it still very usable.
    Thanks again!


  5. Thank you for mentioning my efforts! My family enjoyed my cake, but sometimes family is just being polite. It’s nice to know other people enjoy it too!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

