h1

Banana Coconut Bread

May 11, 2008

This yummy banana coconut bread was inspired by Lorraine from Not Quite Nigella‘s Banana Bread Bake off. I had never made banana bread before, but since we had two slightly sad-looking bananas in the cupboard, I figured it was a good time to start! I decided I wanted another flavour, and it struck me that coconut would make a good match. A quick trawl by Google turfed up several recipes, and naturally I chose the one I had the ingredients for already! 😉 The recipe is here; I actually didn’t have coconut milk, but had read that normal milk and a little extra vanilla would suffice – I guess it’s not as coconutty, but the flavour was beautiful anyway, and since coconut is (sadly) so full of fat, it’s definitely the healthier option*! I sprinkled some coconut on top, and voila!

We took it to a friend’s birthday picnic yesterday, and it certainly passed the taste test; it was gobbled quite quickly, especially once people discovered it was still warm from the oven. 😉 Thanks for hosting your event, Lorraine, it’s fun to have challenges to meet! And if anyone hasn’t looked at Not Quite Nigella yet, go there! It’s an awesome combination of food reviews (in Sydney, sadly for me!) and recipes.

*although, if it’s health food you’re after, banana bread is probably unlikely to satisfy your criteria anyway; in fact, if you’re trying to steer clear of sugar, I’d suggest you’re reading the wrong blog. 😉

Edit: Pia commented to let me know the link was broken, and then, wonderfully, she’s relocated the recipe and sent me a link for it! So here it is, just in case it goes AWOL again:

INGREDIENTS
1½ cups self-raising flour, sifted
1 cup desiccated coconut
1 cup caster sugar
1 cup mashed banana
1 cup coconut milk
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Butter, to serve
METHOD
Preheat oven to 160°C. Lightly grease and line a 10 x 20cm loaf pan.
In a large bowl, combine flour, coconut and sugar. In a large jug, whisk together banana, coconut milk, egg and vanilla. Add to flour mixture, stirring until just combined.
Spoon mixture into prepared pan. Bake for 55-60 minutes until cooked when tested with a skewer. Cool in pan for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Serve spread with butter, if liked.

8 comments

  1. It was seriously tasty! Thank you 🙂


  2. Rosa, your cakes, even something as simple as Banana Bread, always look fabulous! And maybe you can come to Sydney one day (it’s just across a small pond) and try out some of the places to eat! 🙂


  3. Thanks Lorraine… I will definitely have to undertake a gastonomical tour of Sydney sometime, with your blog as my main reference point! 🙂


  4. […] Rosa from Cakes by Rosa made a delicious coconut sprinkled Coconut Banana Bread. Her last words were wise “*although, if it’s health food you’re after, banana bread is probably unlikely to satisfy your criteria anyway; in fact, if you’re trying to steer clear of sugar, I’d suggest you’re reading the wrong blog.” That’s also true for her delicious cake blog! […]


  5. Hi Rosa,
    I am hoping you can help me. I also found this recipe on the Taste website and it soon became one of my best recipes, unfortunately before i could memorise the recipe, i lost the only copy i have of it. I tried to search for it again on the taste website but couldn’t find it. I then tried searching through google and i found this site where i immediately recognised the recipe here, however when i clicked on your link to the recipe, my worries were confirmed and it said the recipe no longer exists. So i am hoping i can get a copy from you perhaps, it would be so good if you can help me…

    Kind Regards
    Pia


  6. Pia, I’m sorry but I read the recipe straight off the Taste site when I made my loaf – and the link is broken, so it looks like the recipe is gone for good (doubtless it’s out there somewhere, but could take years to find!). I’m sorry I can’t help you – generally I at least print recipes, but for some reason I didn’t for this one… Sorry!


  7. That’s ok,
    I think i have found it…

    http://womansday.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=618676

    Thanks


  8. That’s great, Pia, I might edit the post and put the recipe in so that it doesn’t vanish again. Thanks for letting me know! 🙂



Leave a comment