h1

Kayak Cake

January 20, 2008

This cake was requested for a birthday – the birthday boy is an outdoor ed instructor and quite into his kayaks. It’s a mud cake with chocolate buttercream, and entirely edible except for the bar of the paddle (which has a kebab stick inside it) and a toothpick which is securing his head on.

The man has cake inside him, too, so nobody has to eat a huge mouthful of sugar (although I know people who wouldn’t mind…). The helmet, kayak and skirt were all coloured to match his real gear. The water is vanilla buttercream.

I’m pretty happy with this one – I could be more perfectionist, I think, but overall I reckon it’s pretty good. There are more tools and toys I’d like, which would make some of the fiddly bits easier… But I have to wait, because I have been spending far too much on such equipment lately!

8 comments

  1. love it :)

    Hugs, Marcel


  2. Thanks Marcel! ;-) I guess it’d be your kinda cake, too! Next time I’ll have to put a blonde guy in the boat…


  3. That’s awesome! :-D


  4. That is pretty cool!


  5. That is the coolest cake I’ve ever seen before!:’)


  6. Hey I was jw… How did you make the kayak? also is it on top of just a regular sheet cake? I wanted to make 1 4 a party so I wanted 2 know.
    –Sarah–


  7. Hi Sarah, it’s actually just all cake, sitting straight on a board. The cake is mud cake, so fairly solid, baked in two loaf tins. I then laid them end to end and carved them into shape. I covered the cake in chocolate ganache (to help stick the fondant on) then coloured fondant, and the little man is another shaped pieced of cake covered in fondant – though you could make him entirely out of fondant if you find it easier. :-) I hope this helps – let me know if you have any more questions. :-)


  8. Love the river kayaks cake



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

